top of page

Communication - What Works


Click on Picture for excellent tools to communicate effectively

This is so true. I had a conversation with a client last year that taught me a valuable lesson in communication. We were working on a project with a killer deadline and a lot at stake for my client. I had been working on the deliverables non-stop through all kinds of IT issues and creative work arounds to ensure the eLearning would be effective, interactive, on-time, and make my client look awesome.

We had a project check-in on a Friday afternoon. On ISD consulting projects I charge by the hour. I was determined to get the work done despite all of the IT issues that were out of my control but my responsibility to deal with. By our Friday meeting I had exceeded the hours the client was willing to pay for. This was not a problem for me. I believe in getting stuff done. You do what you have to do. However, at some point, particularly when confident you will get it done, you do have to say that’s all I can do.

I showed the client the work, which they seemed happy with. Then we went over the project plan and projected completion dates that were well within the time parameters. The client seemed happy with the projection. As we were wrapping up I mentioned I would have to leave a little early as I was out of hours for this week.

At the time I failed to realize what the client heard. You see communication resides with the receiver. The receiver, my client had many deliverables for this project. Not just mine. The receiver was stressed and had some career-impacting ramification if this project did not go well. When we are under stress we have a tendency to listen differently. The receiver heard she’s leaving and there is still work to be done she must not be a team player.

Like this article says. Communication matters. A few words can make someone feel special or have the power to kill a relationship or tarnish a reputation. In retrospect what my client needed was reassurance that everything was going to be all right. That the project was going to get done in a timely manner. They needed me to communicate more clearly that they could trust I was in their corner.

I learned valuable lessons that day. We listen differently when we are under stress. Always ask yourself “what does this person need?” Communication resides with the receiver. Consider the other person’s perspective and pay close attention to body language and flex when necessary while communicating.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page